des faculty

Keith Arnesen

phone: 848-932-5780
email: arnesen@envsci.rutgers.edu
  • M.S., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
  • Instructor
  • Agricultural meteorology and climatology

A.J. Both

phone: 848-932-9534
email: both@aesop.rutgers.edu

 

  • Ph.D., Cornell University
  • Associate Extension Specialist

Anthony Broccoli

phone: 848-932-5749
email: broccoli@envsci.rutgers.edu

 

  • Ph.D., Rutgers University
  • Chair
  • Professor
  • Climate modeling, Climate dynamics

Annmarie Carlton

phone: 848-932-5778
email: carlton@envsci.rutgers.edu

 

  • Ph.D., Rutgers University
  • Associate Professor
  • Atmospheric Chemistry

Enrique Curchitser

phone: 848-932-7889
email: enrique@esm.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Rutgers University

Associate Professor
Earth System Modeling

Steve Decker

phone: 848-932-5750
email: decker@envsci.rutgers.edu
  • Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Synoptic Meteorology

Donna Fennell

phone: 848-932-5748
email: fennell@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Cornell University

Associate Professor
BioEnvironmental Engineering

Daniel Gimenez

phone: 848-932-5715
email: gimenez@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Minnesota

Associate Professor
Soil Science/Soil Physics

Taewon Han

phone: 848-932-5717
email: han@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Assistant Research Professor
Aerosol Mechanics

Weilin Huang

phone: 848-932-5735
email: whuang@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., University of Michigan

Professor
Physicochemical Processes

Dujuan Kang

phone: 848-932-9800
email: dujuan@esm.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Stanford University

Assistant Research Professor
Physical Oceanography & Ocean Modeling, Climate Variability & Prediction, Numerical Method & Model Development

Valdis Krumins

phone: 848-932-5781
email: krumins@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park

Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Bioaerosols, Bioenergy, Bioremediation

Uta Krogmann

phone: 848-932-5729
email: krogmann@aesop.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg (Germany)

Associate Professor
Solid waste management and engineering

Jerry Kukor

phone: 848-932-7275
email: kukor@aesop.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., University of Michigan

Professor and Dean of the Graduate School – New Brunswick
Microbial Biochemistry / Environmental Microbiology

Ben Lintner

phone: 848-932-5731
email: lintner@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., University of California Berkeley

Associate Professor
Tropical Meteorology & Climate

Gediminas Mainelis

phone: 848-932-5712
email: mainelis@envsci.rutgers.ed
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati

Professor
Biological and non-biological aerosols

Mark Miller

phone: 848-932-5747
email: m.miller@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph. D., Pennsylvania State University

Professor

Robert Miskewitz

phone: 848-932-5707
email: rmiskewitz@aesop.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Stevens Institute of Technology

Assistant Research Professor

Christopher Obropta

phone: 848-932-5711
email: obropta@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., P.E., Stevens Institute of Technology

Associate Professor
Associate Extension Specialist in Water Resources

Craig Phelps

phone: 848-932-5713
email: phelps@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Rutgers University

Assistant Teaching Professor

Abigail Porter

phone: 848-932-6382
email: awporter@rci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D. Cornell University

Instructor

Beth Ravit

phone: 848-932-5752
email: ravit@aesop.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Rutgers University

Instructor

John Reinfelder

phone: 848-932-5737
email: reinfelder@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., SUNY (Stony Brook)

Professor
Biogeochemistry in aquatic systems

Ying Fan Reinfelder

phone: 848-932-5772
email: yingfan@rci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Utah State University

Associate Professor

Alan Robock

phone: 848-932-5751
email: robock@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Distinguished Professor
Climate change

Lisa Rodenburg

phone: 848-932-5774
email: rodenburg@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., John Hopkins University

Associate Professor
Environmental Organic Chemistry

Jeffra Schaefer

phone: 848-932-5779
email: jschaefer@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Rutgers University

Assistant Research Professor

Peter Strom

phone: 848-932-5709
email: strom@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Rutgers University

Professor
Biological Waste Treatment

Barbara Turpin

phone: 848-932-5781
email: turpin@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Oregon Graduate Institute

Distinguished Professor
Air pollution, chemistry and physics of atmospheric aerosols

Christopher Uchrin

phone: 848-932-5738
email: cuchrin@rci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Michigan

Professor
Environmental and Water Resources Engineering

Nathan Yee

phone: 848-932-5714
email: nyee@envsci.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame

Professor
Microbial Geochemistry

Lily Young

phone: 848-932-5710
email: lyoung@aesop.rutgers.edu
Ph.D., Harvard

Provost of Rutgers University–New Brunswick, Professor
Anaerobic microbial metabolism of environmental contaminants, microbial ecology

staff

Melissa Arnesen

phone: 848-932-5728
email: melissa@cep.rutgers.edu

CEP Administrator

Jeremiah Bergstrom

phone: 848-932-5708
email: jbergstrom@envsci.rutgers.edu
Water Resources Program

Rosana Da Silva

phone: 848-932-6714
email: rdasilva@envsci.rutgers.edu
Water Resources Program

Lisa Evrard

phone: 848-932-6726
email: evrard@rci.rutgers.edu
Water Resources Program

Michael Ferner

phone: 848-932-5760
email: ferner@envsci.rutgers.edu
Senior Systems Administrator

Kyle Gourley

phone: 848-932-6716
email: kgourley@envsci.rutgers.edu
Water Resources Program

Michelle Hartmann

phone: 848-932-6711
email: mlhart@envsci.rutgers.edu
Water Resources Program

Marjorie Kaplan

phone: 848-932-5739
email: kaplan@envsci.rutgers.edu
Associate Director – Rutgers Climate Institute

Rita Lehman

phone: 848-932-5754
email: lehman@envsci.rutgers.edu
DES Administration, Accounting Specialist

Karen Leu

phone: 848-932-6727
email: karen.leu@rutgers.edu
Water Resources Program

Sara Mellor

phone: 848-932-6747
email: saramellor@envsci.rutgers.edu
Water Resources Program

Jeannie Nicewicz

phone: 848-932-5762
email: jnicewicz@envsci.rutgers.edu
Secretary to the Chair

Martha Pineda

phone: 848-932-5761
email: martha@envsci.rutgers.edu
Graduate Secretary

Bryan Raney

email: braney@envsci.rutgers.edu
Programmer/Analyst

Maria Rivera

phone: 848-932-5793
email: rivera@aesop.rutgers.edu
Teaching Lab Coordinator and Researcher

Dawn Skouboe

phone: 848-932-5733
email: skouboe@envsci.rutgers.edu
DES Administration, Departmental Administrator

Stephen Szulecki

phone: 848-932-5784
email: szulecki@envsci.rutgers.edu
Director, Rutgers Air Pollution Training Programs

Veronica Tompkins

phone: 848-932-5756
email: tompkins@envsci.rutgers.edu
DES Administration, Bookkeeper

Eric Zwerling

phone: 848-932-5782
email: ezwerling@aol.com
Director, Rutgers Noise Technical Assistance Center

des grad students

Staci Capozzi

email: scapozzi24@gmail.com

Environmental Sciences

Environmental organic chemistry

Arielle Catalano

email: aalpert@envsci.rutgers.edu

Atmospheric Science

Mid-latitude cyclone climatology in coastal environments

Chengyu Chen

email: chengyuc@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Environmental Sciences

Fate and transport of carbonaceous nanoparticles in engineered and natural aquatic systems.

Matthew Drews

email: mdrews@rutgers.edu

Atmospheric Science

Meteorological Instrumentation, Surface Observations, Ground-Based Remote Observation, Atmospheric Optics & Radiation

Sara Duncan

email: saraduncan@envsci.rutgers.edu

Environmental Sciences

Exposure Science, Indoor Air Quality

Corey Gabriel

phone: (732) 657-9278
email: cjgabriel7@gmail.com

Atmospheric Science

Geoengineering, Climate Modeling, Social Justice

Jennifer Kafka

phone: (908) 304-8571
email: jenny.kafka@rutgers.edu

Atmospheric Science

Boundary Layer, Doppler Lidar

Swetha Kasetty

email: swetha.kasetty@rutgers.edu

Environmental Sciences

Environmental Microbiology

Zhongyu Kuang

phone: (732) 789-9178
email: zhongyu@envsci.rutgers.edu

Atmospheric Science

Amanda Luther

phone: (848) 932-5768
email: amanda.luther@rutgers.edu

Environmental Sciences

waste treatment and recovery

Michael Moeller

email: mdm225@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Environmental Sciences

Thien Khoi Nguyen

email: khoi@envsci.rutgers.edu

Environmental Sciences

Atmospheric Chemistry

Mingming Qin

phone: (732) 421-8062
email: mingming.qin@rugters.edu

Environmental Sciences

Soil physics

Atmospheric Science

paleoclimate, earth system modeling, climate-carbon cycle interactions and feedbacks

Philip Sontag

phone: (715) 271-3014
email: pts29@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Environmental Sciences

Mercury in temperate and Antarctic marine ecosystems

Jennifer Therkorn

email: jennifer.therkorn@rutgers.edu

Environmental Sciences

Bioaerosol sampling and exposure assessment, air quality, air sampler development and evaluation

Nirmala Thomas

email: nirmala.thomas@rutgers.edu

Environmental Sciences

Indoor Air Quality

Sarah Wolfson

email: sarah.wolfson@rutgers.edu

Environmental Sciences

Environmental Microbiology, Biodegradation

Department of Environmental Sciences • 14 College Farm Road • Room 243 • New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: 848-932-9800 | Fax: 732-932-8644 | webmaster: des@envsci.rutgers.edu